History Of Bansud

Bansud municipality was formerly part of Bongabong municipality, Oriental Mindoro.

Mr. Jose Leido Sr. the former congressman of Oriental Mindoron sponsored the creation and the separation of Bansud from Bongabong to be one of the youngest municipalities in Oriental Mindoro. By virtue of Republic Act 2514, Bansud became a municipality on July 4, 1959 and approved by the late President Carlos P. Garcia.

Bansud celebrates its Foundation day coinciding with the Philippine - American Friendship day that is held annually on the 4th of July.

The municipality of Bansud is located at the center of Oriental Mindoro and lies on the mouth of Calapan Bay between Mt. Halcon and Mt. Sapul, and along the coast of Tablas Strait. It is bounded by the municipality of Gloria on the North; the municipality of Bongabong on the South; the Tablas Strait on the East; and extends as far as the mountains of Occidental Mindoro to the West. It is 91 kms. from the provincial capital, Calapan.

The municipality has a land area of 34,724 hectares, of which 68% is a forest zon. The 1995 census placed the population at 31,901.

Bansud is composed of thirteen barangays. These are Pag-asa; Pobalcion; Bansud Proper; Conrazon; Alcadesma; Proper Tiguisan; Rosacara; Salcedo; Sumagui; Villapagasa; Mahinla; Malo and Bato.


The Mangyan were the first settlers of Mindoro. They settled in the lands near the Bansud river. The delta provides fertile soil for these first inhabitants. Abundance of agricultural produce and fishing among the settlers was predominant. They lived in a peaceful settlement until new settlers from the islands of Marinduque and Visayas moved in.

The new settlers ask what the place was called. The Mangyan call their place as basud, which means delta. In the many years that followed, Basud eventually was changed to Bansud. Today, Bansud municipality is inhabited by the Tagalog, Visayan, Ilocano and Bicolano.