The Bancuro Church Ruins in Naujan, popularly known as the Simbahang Bato, was built in circa 1680 by Augustinian missionaries who were zealous in bringing Christianity to the first settlers. Made from adobe and corals, it served as a house of prayers for devotees and a fortress against the frequent Moro raids. On 11 September 1824, it was looted and burned during the massive Moro raid “Asultos de Moro”. The remains of the original structure became a refuge for the townspeople from the Japanese soldiers during the Second World War. Laid ruins in centuries, the locals revived it by building a “church within a church”. The Simbahang Bato reflects the fervent devotion of Naujeños and the timeless history of Naujan.
BANCURO, NAUJAN, ORIENTAL MINDORO
Directions : View on Google Map